The Great Gatsby Fashion Influence

MV5BMTkxNTk1ODcxNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDI1OTMzOQ@@._V1_SX214_

Inspiration for collections can come from almost anything, current social or economical situation, the streets, music and movies. When I saw that the great literary classic The Great Gatsby was being turned into a movie, I just knew (or perhaps was hoping) it was going to the source of inspiration for designers.

The Great Gatsby hits theaters May 10th, is a movie adaptation of the classic story written by F. Scott Fitzgerald back in 1925. The story is told by Nick Carraway, a bondsman salesman who moves to Long Island to see his fortune and becomes fascinated by the past and lifestyle of his fabulously wealthy neighbor Jay Gatsby.

This movie has summer block buster written all over it, and because of that the fashion world would be using it for their collections was my prediction. My prediction was accurate, companies like Tiffany & Co. has a new Jazz Age collection that’s tied to the movie, and the party decor to celebrate the collection was Roaring Twenties super club theme. The Brooks Brothers have created the limited edition capsule “The Gatsby Collection”. The idea comes after Catherine Martin, a costume designer for the film, was searching for inspiration for the wardrobe; naturally her first phone call went to the iconic brand. The collection is already available in stores and online and according Claudio Del Vecchio, chief executive officer of Brooks, is selling very well. Mac also has created a collection inspired by the movie. Can I predict trends or what, maybe I have future in trend forecasting after all? Of course it’s easy to claim you “predicted” a trend when it’s already become successful, if only I’d posted my prediction earlier it might hold more weight. Oh well!

To be honest my prediction was probably no more than wishful thinking. I’m obsessed with fashion history and the Roaring Twenties was one of my favorite periods, I absolutely love the fashion of that time and if I could visit any era it would totally be that one. A new care free (the original YOLO generation) attitude due to surviving the war, dancing all night in the dance halls to the smooth sound of Jazz, sipping Gin in the speak eases and smoking cigarettes with those giant cigarette holders (not that I smoke), who wouldn’t want to go back for a visit! And let’s not forget the fashion! Who can honestly say they wouldn’t want to wear those beautiful tubular silhouette flapper dresses with their gathers, slits and fringe, the cute boyish cut hair styles, bright lips and smokey eye make up and Mary Jane shoes.

Though The Great Gatsby and the Roaring Twenties have inspired accessories, make up and men collections it hasn’t trickled into any women’s collection; as of yet. We are seeing fringe appear in some accessories and that might actually be it for Roaring Twenties influence in women’s fashion. The flapper style was showcased in some designers collections a couple of seasons ago so it might be too soon to bring it back, but who knows. I guess only time will tell how far the The Great Gatsby influence will go.

One thought on “The Great Gatsby Fashion Influence

  1. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

