The World Accoridng to Karl

 

karllagerfeldmelissa5_v_27feb13_pr_b

Picture C/O of Vogue

French publisher Flemmarion has assembled some of the best one-liners from designer Karl Lagerfeld into a hard cover book entitled “Le monde selon Karl” or “The World According to Karl” in English. The book is set to be released in the fall and will feature about 80 illustrations by Charles Ameline. Karl had no part in the project that was penned by Patrick Mauriés but is said to be happy with the compilation. For those who deeply involved in the fashion world will know Karl Lagerfeld is one of the most quotable men in fashion, and maybe one of the most outspoken so I have no doubts that this book will make for an interesting read.

One comment I know will not be featured in the book are the critical remarks about Adele’s weight. Last February he came under fire when he was quoted in saying she was a “little too fat”, he later apologized and it was rumored that he sent her a selection of Chanel handbags as a sign of his remorse. This of course has never been confirmed by the fashion house. Karl is once again back in the spot light when in an interview with CNN he said “Adele is another problem. I never said she was fat. I said she was a little roundish; a little roundish is not fat. But for such a beautiful girl, after she lost eight kilos (17.6 pounds) so I think the message was not that bad”…really Karl?

Don’t get me wrong I think Karl Lagerfeld is an amazing designer and there is no doubt that he extremely creative and has incredible artistic talent, but boy does he sure have a talent for putting his foot in his mouth. Whether he called her fat or round does it really matter? To comment on someone’s weight or appearance in a critical manner is insulting and then to try to justify it by saying it’s “not that bad” because the person than lost weight is absurd. Even if Adele’s weight loss had anything to do with Karl’s remarks (which I doubt it did) that wouldn’t excuse what he said.

If I play devil’s advocate, I guess I can understand where he’s coming from. Remembering that Karl Lagerfeld works in the fashion industry and is surrounded by skeleton like models it’s easy for your sense of beauty to become warped. The standard of beauty in the fashion world is incredibly different from that of the rest of the world but he has to remember that not everybody lives in that world and it’s not realistic for everybody to live up to those standards. We are real people with real bodies and real body issues. Adele was by no means fat or roundish, she was curvy and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that! Just like products we shouldn’t be quick to judge someone by their “packaging” there is so much going on in the inside that we have no idea about. Skinny doesn’t necessarily mean healthy just as curvy doesn’t necessarily mean unhealthy, and really that’s what matters. If you’re happy, healthy and you like what you see than what does it matter what the scale says or what size you wear? Besides that the definition of beauty is constantly changing, what was considered beautiful yesterday isn’t today, to try to keep up with it will leave you feeling dizzier than if rode a Tilt-a-whirl 100 times.   

I still have plans to purchase this book when it comes out because when it comes to fashion there’s no doubt Karl Lagerfeld is a genus, in the future he should probably keep his comments to fashion. Stick to what you know Karl!

20 thoughts on “The World Accoridng to Karl

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my
    Facebook group. Chat soon!

  2. I do trust all of the concepts you’ve introduced on your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for novices. May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  3. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I appreciate you finding the time and
    effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  4. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

    • Hi, glad you like my blog :)…the theme i used is called “Forever” it’s one of the custom themes wordpress offers. the wall paper i downloaded and my header i created myself…hope tht helps, good luck wit your blog!

Leave a Reply

